New York Implements New Quarantine For Visitors


NEW YORK, NY – On Wednesday, Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that anyone visiting New York from current COVID-19 hotspots must obey a mandatory two-week quarantine to help keep infection rates low across the state.

According to NBC New York, Governor Cuomo, along with the governors of New Jersey and Connecticut, announced this new quarantine measure during a joint press conference on June 24. Officials are concerned about a second wave of COVID-19 hitting the East Coast, as cases continue to rise in several states across the country.

Cuomo’s order will not prevent people from traveling to New York, but it will enforce a 14-day quarantine for anyone traveling from states designated as high-risk. Governor Cuomo explained that the order will go into effect at 11:59 p.m. on June 24. New York airports, highways, and hotels will all have signs to inform travelers of this new order.

This quarantine currently applies to travelers coming from nine states, which have had a surge of COVID-19 cases over the past several weeks. The states affected include:

  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • South Carolina
  • North Carolina
  • Florida
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Alabama

The list of states included in the mandate may expand as COVID-19 cases continue to increase across the country. Cuomo stated that the quarantine will apply to any state in which 10 of every 100,000 people test positive over a rolling seven-day period, or where the overall positive rate is 10% of the population in the same seven-day period.

The New York trial attorneys of Finz & Finz have dedicated their careers to protecting New Yorkers for decades. As we all continue to face this unprecedented threat to health and safety, we will continue to publish news about the pandemic and how it is affecting our community. Check back here on our blog for updates, or if you need legal assistance, call us at 855-TOP-FIRM.